Connect. Communicate. Collaborate. Securely.

Home » Kerio User Forums » Kerio Control » license detail for kwf
  •  
henrysbox

Send a private message to this user
I’ve introduced KWF 6.3 to my clients and they are very happy about it. I’ve been using KWF for 2 years now and this is the first time I encountered this situation.

Their office consists of 90 workstations and operates 24/7 with 3 shifts. They only need an approximately 50 concurrent connections (tops using internet) at any given time. Will there be any problem if they only buy 50 licenses.

They decided that all users need to login first to KWF (except for servers) for them to access the internet, get full use of the other features (accounting, quota, bandwidth limiter etc) and logout after they are done.

Right now I’m not sure if it will work since they are using a 30day trial of kwf (unlimited users).

All 80 workstations need to connect to the internet. This is not shared workstation as each user has an assigned PC, so having to login to kwf is the best possible way to limit the user and allow only those permitted ones (via restrictions).

what do you think? will this work, the only issue they have right now is the license thats all.
  •  
winkelman

Send a private message to this user
KWF counts devices (IP addresses) that it's setting up/regulating connections for. Each device (IP address) uses up 1 license irregardless of how many connections that device is actually using.

Thing to look out for is that even after a device stops having any connections through KWF, it will still use up a license for a specified amount of time (I believe a few hours, but you should ask Kerio about it). So if all 80 computers are accessing the Internet several times per day, in effect you would indeed need the 80 licenses even though there are not 80 clients connected at one time. If they all use the Internet, but spread out more over a week, then less licenses may be enough.