Connect. Communicate. Collaborate. Securely.

Home » Kerio User Forums » Kerio Connect » KMS 6.4 - OSX Server 10.4.9 and ClamXav/Clamav
  •  
thheidemann

Send a private message to this user
Hi,

I'm trying to get the virus scan to work with the above mentioned configuration - I am a complete UNIX novice and completely helpless.

Doest anybody know a tutorial how to configure this?

Th.
  •  
sonofcolin

If you are a complete UNIX novice and not familiar with the command line, then I think you will find it difficult to install and configure ClamAV. If you just want to try on a test server, then go ahead and use some of the information in these forums and also the Kerio Knowledgebase. Production server - use the integrated (not free) scanner.

You can install clamXav (a GUI installer for ClamAV on OSX), but you will need to configure this to communicate with KMS.
  •  
My IT Indy

I completely agree with sonofcolin. Just pay for the McAfee plugin and be done with it for now. I would not rely upon ClamAV for a production server personally.

-
My IT Indy
Kerio Certified Reseller and Hosted Provider
http://www.myitindy.com
  •  
sonofcolin

ClamAV works great with KMS and OS X server, but setting it up isn't straight forward and requires a lot of testing to get it to work in a way that suits your requirements. We do use it on a production server and have run into problems in the past.

There are instructions for installing on OS X on the Kerio forums and in the Knowledgebase. You then need to edit clamd.conf and freshclam.conf to get a working installation with KMS.

Many feel that ClamAV has better detection rates than other commercial products, but what you get with a commercial product is support when things go wrong!
  •  
timur

How much for McAffe?
  •  
jensonyu