Connect. Communicate. Collaborate. Securely.

Home » Kerio User Forums » Kerio Control » How to see user's hardware address ?
  •  
aiwex

Send a private message to this user
In the Status/Active hosts i can see ip addreses that are connected to KWF. How could i find out their mac address (hardware address) ? I know that I can reserve an ip for certain mac, but how could i view them from 'Active hosts' tab, if none of ip are reserved ? If it is not possible with KWF, what other software could I use ?
  •  
winkelman

Well, you can't from KWF if it's not its DHCP server that's handed out the IP address. (And even so, you still couldn't find it in 'Active hosts', but only in the DHCP lease table...)

I wouldn't know of any tool that could find out a MAC address given an IP address. I doubt it's even possible in general (if the IP address is not on the same subnet), but I'm not an expert in network protocols.
  •  
aiwex

I see.

Well, i have another question then. I notised, that those IP, that I see in Leases tab of DHCP server, and in Hosts/Users, do not mach. I configured DHCP server to give only IPS in the range of 192.168.0.90-192.168.0.100, and some IPs are left from before. But shouldn't Leases tab show them all ?

I attach screenshots of Leases and Hosts

• Attachment: hosts.JPG
    (Size: 52.84KB, Downloaded 567 times)
  •  
aiwex

...and leases

• Attachment: leases.JPG
    (Size: 36.87KB, Downloaded 536 times)
  •  
winkelman

Quote:

...some IPs are left from before

From before when?

If those 'other' IPs were also leased out, they won't refresh their lease (and then get an IP that's in your x.90-x.100 range) until the original lease time expires. And where those leased out by KWF? Perhaps, because those IP's are not anymore in any known DHCP IP range, KWF doesn't list them and simply regards them as being 'strange' possible fixed IP addresses.