Connect. Communicate. Collaborate. Securely.

Home » Kerio User Forums » Kerio Connect » KMS Max mailbox size
  •  
barthompson

Send a private message to this user
Hi Guys,

I act as an IT administrator for a small company (15 employees)- while I am not an IT expert, I can handle what I need to run the netowrk with the help of some outside support professionals. Our company shortly is going to be switching all our pcs to macs, and installing an xserve to replace our Windows based server. We have been advised to run Kerio Mail Server instead of Apple's native Mail server. I just have one question if I may...

Currently, we run Microsoft Exchange. A few years ago, our IT support guys recommended us to start using AutoArchive to archive off emails older than say 6 months to a seperate .pst file to keep the amount of mail (and contactsa and calendar items...) stored in exchange to a sensible level. They said the amount that had built up over the years was causing exchange and the server in general to run very slowly. They have since recommended keeping our individual mailboxes under say 2Gb to avoid performance issues and any potential corrupting issues.

My question is simply, is there a limit as to how much Kerio can store in a mailbox at any one time. And even if there is no theoretical limit, is there a practical one - i.e. even if in theory Kerio can store many many Gbs, is it advisable?

Many thanks for your help
  •  
My IT Indy

Kerio stores emails as individual files so I'm pretty sure the limit is the size of your storage.

Congrats on moving to Macs, I have helped various companies do the same thing and they all end up with Kerio MailServer as their Exchange replacement.

-
My IT Indy
Kerio Certified Reseller and Hosted Provider
http://www.myitindy.com
  •  
barthompson

I see, would you expect any performance reduction as the size of the mailboxes increases?