Connect. Communicate. Collaborate. Securely.

Home » Kerio User Forums » Kerio Connect » post recovery synchierarchy issue on one mailbox
  •  
jakeharrop

Send a private message to this user
Hi,

I'm a consultant that's been called in to resolve a clients mail problems; they had no anti virus on their mailserver server and it had become infested by the look of it. We had a nightmare with the ISP blacklisting them and blocking all traffic on port 25 etc.

Anyway, after we got rid of the viruses I noticed a lot of properties.fld errors in the logs (cannot create a file when that file already exists), so I went through and manually renamed all the affected files and let the system rebuild them. I think this happened because the virus dropped the partiton table and when it was resurrected, some permisions went a bit screwy.

At this point all seemed pretty much ok, apart from one mailbox which was still corrupted, though it would open - outlook just didn't show all the mail in it. Unfortunately one of the employees then took it upon himself to deal with it without telling me what he was doing.

It appears that this user's outlook had been configured to pull from kerio via POP3, but never to remove messages from the server, so as soon as he installed KOFF it pulled through several thousand old messages. I guess he panicked at this point and just started deleting stuff and creating new mail profiles in outlook - just allsorts.

I finally got my hands on the laptop in question on friday, created a new account in Kerio and deleted the old one, leaving the mailstore in place. I created a new mail profile using KOFF and pointed it at the server, did the initial sync and got the welcome to kerio mail - so far so good.

I then came out of outlook and manually copied the inbox and subfolders from the old mailstore into the new one, backed up the fld files in the inbox and let kerio generate new ones.