Connect. Communicate. Collaborate. Securely.

Home » Kerio User Forums » Kerio Connect » Total newb RFI: KMS LDAP in Thunderbird 2/3 config???
  •  
pokeitwithastick

Send a private message to this user
I'm trying to get my office set up to use the LDAP address book in KMS so we can all have the same contacts. All of the workstations are running TB2.0x-3.0x. The address book in Tbird lets you access a LDAP directory but I don't know the first thing about it and Wikipedia has a article on the subject that is denser than I am.
I need to fill in the fields in the New LDAP Directory that go like this:

Name: (this could be anything I think)
Hostname: (this I assume is my server's IP address)
Base DN: (huh?)
Port number: 389
Bind DN: (huh?)
Use secure connection (SSL): (not checked by default)

Thanks
  •  
BudDurland

I think what you need is:

BaseDN = fn=ContactRoot
BindDN = <your kerio account name or email address>

The first time tBird access the LDAP, you'll be prompted for your password. You have the option to save it so you won't be asked again.

Good is better than evil because it's nicer
--Mammy Yokum
  •  
pokeitwithastick

In order to test this directory server I would need to know that when I put addresses in my Contacts list thru the webmail they will be listed in the LDAP server. Is this the case?

If so I'll create a test address entry thru webmail and then see if I can see it when I isolate my LDAP address book in Tbird.

Thanks.

EDIT:
So in TB I isolated the LDAP address book thru Tools>Options>Composition>Addressing and then selecting only the Directory server as the active address autocompletion book and I got no joy when I created a new message and strated typing in addresses to the addy bar.
Also I R-clicked on the LDAP addy book and go to the properties>offline>download now and when I do it says "replication succeeded", so either there's no entries or it's not connecting...

[Updated on: Wed, 11 February 2009 21:45]

•  
pokeitwithastick