Connect. Communicate. Collaborate. Securely.

Home » Kerio User Forums » Kerio Connect » Cleanout Agent question
  •  
BudDurland

Messages: 348

Karma: 10
Send a private message to this user
What date does the cleanout agent use when removing old messages from the "Deleted items" and "Junk e-mail" folders -- the actual date of the message, or the date it was placed in the folder? If I am doing cleanup, and remove many very old messages from my Inbox or Sent Items folder, do they sit in the Deleted Items for the time period I configured, or are they immediately candidates for deletion?

Good is better than evil because it's nicer
--Mammy Yokum
  •  
ccjwells

Messages: 192
Karma: 0
Send a private message to this user
Looks like it goes by the date of the message. I just dumped some message that were over a year old and they instantly got zapped.
  •  
freakinvibe

Messages: 1553
Karma: 62
Send a private message to this user
Quote:

Looks like it goes by the date of the message.

You are probably right (I can't check it right now), but from a logical point of view, I think it should go by deletion date.

Outlook works that way and other mailers as well. The reason for a recycle bin is that you can undelete things for a while. If mails that you delete vanish immediately from the recycle bin, users will be confused by the behaviour.

Dexion AG - The Blackberry Specialists in Switzerland
https://dexionag.ch
  •  
Pavel Dobry (Kerio)

Messages: 5245
Karma: 251
Send a private message to this user
Auto-delete function use create time (ie. the date the message was created in the folder) when removing old messages. So, if you delete one year old message by moving it to the Deleted Items folder, it resides there for another 30 days (or whatever is the limit for autodelete) before it is removed by the auto-delete.

[Updated on: Tue, 07 April 2009 11:09]

  •  
ccjwells

Messages: 192
Karma: 0
Send a private message to this user
whoops, I must have shift-deleted my old messages. Pavel is (obviously) right here. Sorry for the confusion
  •  
freakinvibe

Messages: 1553
Karma: 62
Send a private message to this user
Kerio_pdobry wrote on Tue, 07 April 2009 11:09

Auto-delete function use create time (ie. the date the message was created in the folder) when removing old messages. So, if you delete one year old message by moving it to the Deleted Items folder, it resides there for another 30 days (or whatever is the limit for autodelete) before it is removed by the auto-delete.

Great. That's how I expected it to be.

Dexion AG - The Blackberry Specialists in Switzerland
https://dexionag.ch
Previous Topic: mails in queue with errormessage
Next Topic: Entourage 2008 slow sync
Goto Forum:
  


Disclaimer:
Kerio discussion forums are intended for open communication between forum members and may contain information and material posted by members which may be useful in learning about Kerio products. The discussion forums are not intended to provide technical support for any specific product. Any information implied or expressed in the discussion forums is that of the posting member. Kerio is in no way responsible for the information posted in the forums, or its accuracy. Kerio employees may participate in the discussions, but their postings do not represent an offical position of the company on any issues raised or discussed. Kerio reserves the right to monitor and maintain the forums to promote free and accurate exchange of information.

Current Time: Tue Nov 21 22:35:04 CET 2017

Total time taken to generate the page: 0.00403 seconds
.:: Contact :: Home ::.
Powered by: FUDforum 3.0.4.