Connect. Communicate. Collaborate. Securely.

Home » Kerio User Forums » Kerio Connect » Syncronise public folders between 2 servers (I want both servers to use the same public folders)
  •  
Yohann94

Send a private message to this user
Hello,
I'm in a special configuration where I have 2 servers away one from each other. But I want to share the public folder, specialy contacts, between both servers. In fact, let's say I have a master server, and I want it to replicate its contact list to the secondary server.
So I'm using rsync (Carbon Copy Cloner) to sync #public/Contacts and it works.
But I wanted an advice about what exactly to sync : Do I have to sync indexes and all the fld files or only the #msgs folder ?
Can I do the same thing with Calendar, Resources and Tasks ? In fact, would it be as simple as cloning the #public folder ?

Thanks for your advices.
  •  
altivec

Until the feature is buildin into Kerio it wont be possible.

The syncing feature is a fiction.

If you open your public folder either a calendar or contact you will see that each "contact" or "event" are represented by a sequential number.

Let's just go with contact (event will work the same way).

People from office 1 (mail1.server.com) will use mail1 as mail server for mail and public folder which is the master server also.

People from office 2 (mail2.server.com will use mail2 as mail server for mail and public which is the slave server.

Let's say you start the server and have 50 contacts.
Evertything goes great!

Someone in Office1 is adding contact (which will be the file number 51), everything still work well on both side since only one place had change made.

Let's say someone in Office 1 and also in Office 2 are both creating new contact then both server will create a file number 51 and on the sync there will be either a issue or most recent by time will go on top so u'll loose one of the contact.

Again same would apply on calendar.