Connect. Communicate. Collaborate. Securely.

Home » Kerio User Forums » Kerio Control » Internal routers to other offices (long post)
  •  
luca.civinini@ctt

Send a private message to this user
Hello,
I started playing with KErio in September since this is the corporate firewall choice of my company. I've previously worked with Linux IPTABLES, ISA and PIX & ASA applicances.

Today I replaced one of the company firewall (an old ISA 2000) with a KWF box. Basically all worked well, but I'm facing a strange problem. This is the layout I'm dealing with:

OFFICE1
Subnet 172.16.0.0/24
Kerio machine: 172.16.0.1
PC1: 172.16.0.30
router to OFFICE2: 172.16.0.254

OFFICE2
Subnet 172.16.1.0/24
Kerio machine: 172.16.1.1
PC2: 172.16.1.30
router to OFFICE1: 172.16.1.254

Basically each office has an Internet connection managed by Kerio and a site-to-site connection via MPLS wan. The idea is that each client should use the MPLS for office-to-office traffic and kerio for Internet Access.
I also need Kerio as Default gateway for clients in both networks.
I've configured the proper routing in both kerio and also configured an ACL to allow any traffic from trusted network to trusted network, but something strange occurs.

Consider both PC1 and PC2 as in the table above:
From PC1 I can ping PC2 (so routing seems to work) but if I try to connect to RDP con PC2 I fail. Now I ping PC1 from PC2 and I get replies. After those "cross ping" I can connect from PC1 to PC2 using RDP.

Based on my TCP/IP knowledge, I was expecting that Kerio will raise an ICMP redirect every time it get packets that should be routed elsewhere, but seems there are some exception.

When I ping PC2 from PC1, I can correctly see an entry on PC1's routing table saying that to reach PC2 it has to change the gateway to MPLS router. But if I look to the routing table on PC2 (after the PING) I cannot see a similar entry. And in this case the connection from PC1 to PC2 doesn't work.