Connect. Communicate. Collaborate. Securely.

Home » Kerio User Forums » Kerio Connect » Godaddy Cert. not trusted? (Is the cheap Godaddy certificate ok?)
  •  
migsutu

Send a private message to this user
I started to play with adding a certificate to our Kerio server and Godaddy seemed to be the cheapest. I got everything installed and Kerio has accepted it fine. My problem is when I try and access the secure sight, it tells me it is signed by an unkown authority, even though it lists Godaddy as issuer of the certificate. I am new to this certificate stuff, so should I have purchased one of the more expensive certificates or purchased one from a different source? My server is behind a router and I am port forwarding all relevant ports to it. Thanks for any input.
  •  
mountaindogs

Godaddy uses an intermediate certificate. That has to be installed also. How to install depends on what server you are running. I have a godaddy cert and it works.
  •  
  •  
migsutu

OK, so Godaddy sent me two crt files. One was my mydomain.crt and the other was gd_bundle.crt. I renamed mydomain.crt to server1.crt and that is in sslcert and I guess to copy gd_bundle.crt to sslca directory. Do I need to rename the gd_bundle or just let it stay as is? Do I need to restart the service after copying the intermediate certificate? Thanks very much for the replies and information.
  •  
Pavel Dobry (Kerio)

Copy the gd_bundle.crt to the sslca directory and import the SSL server certificate and private key via the Administration Console. Then restart the server.
  •  
migsutu

Ok, I think it is working correctly now. I still need to check it offsite, so I will do that tonight at home. Thank you very much for the help and information.
  •  
migsutu