Connect. Communicate. Collaborate. Securely.

Home » Kerio User Forums » Kerio Connect » MAPI error when starting Outlook 2003
  •  
macti

Send a private message to this user
I'm migrating a customer from Zimbra to KMS (I'm closing my Zimbra hosting product). Some of the users are using MS Outlook 2003 and were using the Zimbra MAPI connector. So what I did is that I installed KOC Offline and created a new profile called Kerio that is using the KMS "server type". Now, when Outlook starts, it ask to pick a profile.

That worked great on my Windows box, but not at the customer's site. After they created the Kerio profile, they start Outlook and get :

Impossible to open your default mail folders. 0x80070057 MAPI_E_INVALID_PARAMETER

The only difference is that on my box, I'm a admin so I was able to install and configure the connector. At the customer's site, users have no right to install software, so we installed KOC with an admin account, and the profile was created inside the user account.

Does users have to be admin to use Outlook with the connector? It was working fine with the Zimbra connector (I did have to install the Zimbra connector as a admin too) so I'm not sure the problem lies there.
  •  
Valenzi

I only can say you need to be admin to install connector, not for using it!
  •  
macti

I also forgot to say that the users data is stored on their Windows server (Active Directory profiles).
  •  
fcco

Few days ago i got similar errors on a client pc, try this:

1. close outlook
2. goto c:\windows\system32
3. find mapi32.dll, rename it to mapi32.old
4. find fixmapi.exe in the c:\windows\system32 folder and run it

Then retry.
  •  
nhoague

There is also another fix for stupid outlook problems:

1) Close outlook
2) Go to c:\windows\users\<username>\Application Data\Local Settings\Microsoft\Outlook
3) Rename outcmd.dat to outcmd.old
4) Restart Outlook

Also try to repair and empty the local cache and let a resync happen.