Connect. Communicate. Collaborate. Securely.

Home » Kerio User Forums » Kerio Connect » Suggestions for SSL Certs
  •  
TC10284

Send a private message to this user
I have two registered domain names/websites and I am running email servers using the domain names. Currently I only have self-signed SSL certs running on the mail server.

Do you have any suggestions for a good SSL cert "generator"?
I've never had to request SSL certificates before, so I'm completely new to the process.
What information will I need to provide?
How long is the process?
What does it usually cost?
Is it fairly simple to setup on Kerio Connect?

Thanks
  •  
generic_penguin

HI

I use a Rapid SSL cert, they are one of the cheapest ones I have found that are single root.

Single root means you don't have to install an intermediate certificate as well. Nothing wrong with doing that now days as most devices will accept intermediate certs but adds that extra step by doing a single root cert

http://www.godaddy.com are an example of a SSL that uses a intermediate cert.

I have found http://www.trustico.com.au/products/rapidssl/cheap-rapidssl- ssl-certificate.php these fellas are the cheapest, {I not affiliated in any way} and they re-sell all kinds of SSL certs

But a single 1 year SSL costs you around $25 a year

Depending on the reason for the cert you may want a more $$ version that verifies who you say you are when signing up. For me I did not need that function as I got the SSL to encrypt my data being sent and not to 100% prove I am who I say I am 'which I doubt anyone even checks anyhow'

For the Rapid SSL all you need to do is give them the full Domain name of the server and have access to the current mail server on that domain name to setup an email address like postmaster or root etc..

Other cheaper SSL may require you have access to the email in the whois record of the domain name. While the $$ SSL's need you to sign paperwork