Connect. Communicate. Collaborate. Securely.

Home » Kerio User Forums » Kerio Connect » Terminal Server (Citrix) KOC (Kerio Connect working in a TS enviroment?)
  •  
Christoph

Send a private message to this user
Hello,
i'm quite new to Kerio Connect, so please correct me if i'm wrong.

Given there is a quite standard TS Enviroment.
One Central office location with a 100Mbit/s connection to a hosted Kerio Connect. A few branch offices with 2-35Mbit/s to the central office + loads of roadwarriors.

All these people use Kerio online connector on the terminal server to connect to their mail/calendar.
As technical problems began to show, support calls to Kerio where answered with to use the Kerio Offline connector (KOFFC), as the online connector is not supported in a terminal server enviroment and beeing phased out (When will this be?)

Reading the manual it looks like the Offline Connector is actually supported in a TS enviroment without roaming profiles.
Can anyone explain to me what this exactly means, as people of cause roam Terminal Servers and/or workstation.
Can't i just use a folder redirect to a fileserver to solve this problem?

Is it possible with the KOFFC for the user to only retrive the headers of an email and never store email locally?

What are the performance implication of using the offline connector instead of the online connector?

Am I right in guessing, that the online connector is doing a translation like:
Outlook (Mapi) -> (Mapi) Connector (IMAP) -> (IMAP) Server

And the offline connector something like:

Outlook (Mapi) -> (Mapi) Connector (Mapi) -> (Mapi)Server?

Overall this all ends in the question, what is best practice when running Kerio Connect in Terminal Server enviroment.

Cheers
Chris
  •  
TorW