Connect. Communicate. Collaborate. Securely.

Home » Kerio User Forums » Kerio Connect » Anyone using an SSD drive or SSD Raid?
  •  
My IT Indy

Send a private message to this user
Just curious if anybody's tried hosting the mailstore on either an SSD drive or an SSD raid.

-
My IT Indy
Kerio Certified Reseller and Hosted Provider
http://www.myitindy.com
  •  
j.turley

I haven't, but I have just got my hands on one of those nice OCZ Vertex 3 drives!
  •  
marketconnections

I was using a Mac Mini as a server with the standard 5400rpm drives. Performance was fine, except when moving messages around using Apple Mail. Move operations would take forever for more than a few dozen messages and occasionally timeout.

I switched to a 240GB OCZ Vertex2 as the Boot/MailStore drive, and performance is now near instantaneous for these operations. Account sync is much faster as well. I've been running this way for around 7 months, and I'm very happy with the performance increase.
  •  
srobson

As much as I'd love to move my mail server over to SSD(s) to take advantage of the huge performance boost, the issue of drive wear would give me pause, especially since Kerio Connect constantly writes so many small files. There have been discussions of this issue further back in the forums.
  •  
elias

srobson wrote on Tue, 31 May 2011 17:41
As much as I'd love to move my mail server over to SSD(s) to take advantage of the huge performance boost, the issue of drive wear would give me pause, especially since Kerio Connect constantly writes so many small files. There have been discussions of this issue further back in the forums.

Using a quality SSD from Intel, OCZ, etc..., this is pretty much a non-issue. The wear leveling algorithms in these drives are really good and as long as you don't keep your drive nearly full, you likely won't notice performance issues related to the drive's internal memory cell management.