Connect. Communicate. Collaborate. Securely.

Home » Kerio User Forums » Kerio Connect » i can send and not receive (im new)
  •  
isonit

Send a private message to this user
I'm testing differen mail servers and kerio seems like the best i have found but i cant get to work. im new at this. i have set up a few web servers but i am having trouble on the mail. i can send no problem from this server on any user in my domain. receiving is the problem. i may have the mx records wrong. i purchased my domain from godaddy and the had a bunch of cname records for different mail protocols already in there. ive tried many different configurations on the mx records can somebody please help me.
  •  
TorW

Sounds like you are struggling with basic DNS setup, something you really need to be proficient with in order to set up and operate a mail server. Try to read and understand the link below and act accordingly. If you can't or won't do that, be prepared to troubleshoot yoru DNS setup in public or hire someone to fix it.

http://www.petri.co.il/configure_mx_records_for_incoming_smt p_email_traffic.htm
  •  
isonit

mx record

host mydomain.com points to mail.mydomain.com ttl 1hour 0priority

that is my understanding on how to do it. if that is wrong can someone tell me what iam doing wrong. I dont have any problem with the dns on websites. i can create subdomains and point to my ip no problem.

[Updated on: Tue, 30 August 2011 16:03]

•  
Petr Dobry (Kerio)

You should read and follow the article from the previous post (which is very nicely written BTW) and setup MX record for your domain.

Petr Dobry
Product Development Manager | Kerio
  •  
isonit

i followed that and nslookup poinst toward my router ip but the server still won receive. i found that link before i posted this and followed it i have created different mx zones with different priorities. i reversed the host with the points to on the other and they both point to my router ip
  •  
tonyswu

What is your domain name?