Connect. Communicate. Collaborate. Securely.

Home » Kerio User Forums » Kerio Connect » LDAP query - LDAP groups missing and cn used instead of actual username
  •  
twhitehouse

Send a private message to this user
Hello all,

I am using Softerra LDAP Browser to run LDAP queries against our Kerio 7 server. The Kerio 7 server has Kerio connect also. I am new to administering the server, so if I am stating something incorrectly, please let me know.

Anyways, in the results I don't see any of the groups I have created. Also, the usernames are not listed. Instead, the users are listed in the left side results pane like so:

"cn=00000001"

Normally, from using other LDAP servers in the past like Active Directory for Microsoft Exchange server, Softerra would list the users by the usernames like:

"user1"

I know "cn" is an LDAP attribute for common name. I have seen that before. But, normally, that is something you enter into a BaseDN field. You don't normally see the users listed by their "cn". If I click on a user in Softerra, I can see the actual users name for the "cn" field in the right side results pane. So, the LDAP Search was successful.

Also, when I refresh the LDAP search in Softerra it fails. Softerra lists a "COM error". The description of this error is that there are "RootDSE content problems".

Regardless of the specific error, I believe the LDAP information is not set up correctly on the Kerio 7 Server.

Furthermore, no groups show up in the Softerra LDAP search either. I have a group created with users in it. Normally, on other LDAP Servers like Active Directory for Exchange, I can see the groups listed.

I think we can bundle this in with the same reason as the other incorrect behavior and say that something also is not set up correctly causing the groups to not be displayed in the LDAP search.