Connect. Communicate. Collaborate. Securely.

Home » Kerio User Forums » Kerio Connect » Looking for tips... Moving Connect and Workspace to new Mac Mountain Lion server (Moving Kerio to new Mac server)
  •  
MacDuff

Send a private message to this user
We have Kerio Connect and Workspace running on aging Mac Mini servers running Mac OS X 10.6.8 with FireWire drives for the data.

We are about to migrate to new quad-core Mac Mini servers running Mac OS X 10.8.2 with Thunderbolt RAIDs.

The primary responsibility for the move has fallen to me. I'm far from an expert at Kerio software.

I have found some kbase articles covering the subject of moving data to new computers, specifically these articles on moving Kerio Connect and Workspace data:

Connect:
kb.kerio.com/article.php?id=360
manuals.kerio.com/kmsag/en/sect-kmsrecover.html

Workspace:
kb.kerio.com/article/how-to-move-data-store-to-a-different-f older-machine-798.html

I was hoping that I could get some practical tips for making the migration go as smoothly and easily as possible. Not just Kerio tips, but also relating to configuring the Mac servers for Kerio.

I have little more than a rough plan right now: Install Kerio Connect and Workspace on the new Macs; Copy the data to the new drives; re-link the apps to the data-stores.

The new Macs will use the same licenses as the old ones. Is there anything to watch out for when activating licenses that have already been used on another computer?

Are there any "gotchas" to watch out for when moving SSL certificates and configuring DNS?

The backup and restore process outlined in the first Kerio Connect kbase article seem unnecessarily complex. Couldn't I just copy/clone the store volume to the new Mac's external drive and then edit mailserver.cfg on the new Mac to point to the new store?

What else am I missing? What problems am I likely to encounter?

Thanks in advance for your help!!
  •  
My IT Indy