Connect. Communicate. Collaborate. Securely.

Home » Kerio User Forums » Kerio Operator » SIP Interface sip server option?
  •  
billbrigg

Send a private message to this user
Okay, I am new to Operator but I have been involved with SIP for a number of years.

This question is about configuration options for Operator SIP Interfaces.

Typically a SIP endpoint has options for a server and a proxy.

For example, Polycom calls them "server" and "outboundproxy". Cisco (for the 7940 and 7960 phones) calls them "proxy1_address" and "outbound_proxy". When fqdns are in use, the server name is NOT resolved, the proxy name is resolved.

I cannot find the equivalent settings in Operator. There is a proxy and a registrar, if I use a fqdn for either of these Operator attempts to resolve the name.

I thought maybe the "User ID differs from from number" option would allow me to specify the user name as PhoneNumber<_at_>servername, however, I get a format error.

I did look in the Admin doc and found no references to this topic.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!
  •  
silars

I'm not sure that makes much sense. FQDNs *must* be resolved, that's the whole point. An FQDN is merely a human readable process for handling IPs.

Perhaps you are alluding to something else?

My Polycoms appear to resolve all FQDNs, in limited testing.

Do you have any packet captures to show the issue?
  •  
billbrigg

Okay, if I use the term "host portion" instead of "fqdn" does it make more sense?
  •  
silars

Please understand, I'm not trying to be picky for the sake of being picky. I just believe your problem is elsewhere, not hostname or FQDN related.

Anytime you enter an alphanumeric value into a space reserved for IP information, that information must be resolved. IP communications do not understand names, only IPs.