Connect. Communicate. Collaborate. Securely.

Home » Kerio User Forums » Kerio Connect » Migrate Kerio to Kerio
  •  
Black and White

Send a private message to this user
Hello Kerio Community,

I'm a rookie with Kerio, currently playing with the trial edition of 8.1.1

I have a client, whose company is splitting in two.
My task is to move these 10 users from Kerio in their old organisation into a new build of Kerio with their new corporate ID.

I do not have any Admin access the the parent organisation's Kerio server.
Can anyone suggest the best way to migrate the user mailboxes across to the new Kerio organisation that I'm building?

My MS Exchange hat says to export their mailboxes to PST's and import them into the new org. However, I know very little about Kerio terminology and it's capabilities.

Your wisdom and knowledge would be muchly appreciated. Perhaps I'll become a Kerio fanboy if this pulls off Laughing

James
  •  
rickblackdog

If you can create the new mailbox on the existing machine & drag the mail from one box to another. I've done a lot of migrations this way, and although it's a bit cumbersome & time consuming, it's the most reliable.

If it's kerio -> kerio you may need to connect to the OLD mailbox in a different way (like IMAP) because I'm not sure you can have 2 kerio mailboxes on one client machine.
  •  
BudDurland

There's a couple ways to go about this. I'm presuming the new server uses a different domain name.

One way to do it, as mentioned already, is to build the new server, then connect the clients to both servers and copy messages from the old to the new. Kinda time consuming, and won't move contacts, calendars, and tasks.

There are several IMAP migration tools that accomplish the above automagically. Kerio has one as well, click here for info. Same drawback, though regarding contacts.

The geeky way to do this, if you can afford the mail server downtime, is like so:

1) stop the Kerio service on the old & new servers.