Connect. Communicate. Collaborate. Securely.

Home » Kerio User Forums » Kerio Control » Help for a newbie?? (How to police an establish Kerio system?)
  •  
PCSailor

Send a private message to this user
Hello,

I am new to the company, and Kerio, and the Internet speed is crawling. From the router out the speed is good and is what we pay for. Looking at the Kerio IP traffic, it is an internal problem. We have a few employees who are young and not able to police their Internet usage. I have blocked their IP address but this is a short term solution as we are dynamic using a Cisco switch for DHCP.

What I need is to be able to cross reference MAC address with IP address. I would like to knock everyone offline in one move, have employees come to me with there devices where I would record the device, MAC address, User, and IP address. Then I can give everyone free reign and let those who burn themselves deal with the consequences.

However, it seems Kerio is not able to do this. Kerio gives me the option to set up users and groups and police this way. This should have been when the Kerio was installed and I am now playing catch up, so it is going a bit slower then I would like. I will research more with the Kerio. The manual is a large, detailed, and designed for the IT pro, which I am not, although I am very interested in learning all I can and all I need to.

I am open to suggestion here and I could use some help.

Thanks,
Phil
  •  
PCSailor

Anyone, anyone, anyone,...

I've seen the MAC address filtering,

kb.kerio.com/product/kerio-control/security/filtering-mac-ad dresses-1328

but look at the choices:

Prevent listed computers from accessing the network -- the filter will block only MAC addresses included on the list.

This mode can be used to block known MAC addresses, but will not filter traffic of new, unknown devices.