Connect. Communicate. Collaborate. Securely.

Home » Kerio User Forums » Kerio Operator » auto provisioning Cisco IP phone 7490G fails
  •  
PPG

Send a private message to this user
Have followed the instructions: http://kb.kerio.com/product/kerio-operator/server-configurat ion-kerio-operator/configuring-automatic-phone-provisioning- 820.html

Connected a Cisco 7940G IP Phone. I can see in the DHCP server yhat an ip adress was provided to the phone, see the phone showing up in Operator on the Provisioned phones list, remains unregistered.

But then the phone does not stop its boot / startup sequece. It says at a certain point "file not found: United_Sta"

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
  •  
Filip Jenicek (Kerio)

It's just a guess, but you might need to flash the phone with the correct sip firmware.
  •  
PPG

Hello Filip. Thanks for your suggestion. Since i'm a total newb as far as it concerns voip and IP telephones (but trying to get the grasp of it) my question to you would be:

what would the "correct sip firmware" be for a Cisco 7940G phone? Where to get it? How to flash?

Thank you for any help provided.
  •  
Filip Jenicek (Kerio)

If it was only that simple, these phones are really hard to manage.

The whole upgrade process is described here: http://www.voip-info.org/wiki/view/Cisco+7940+7960+Single+St ep+Upgrade

Use google to find the firmware, there are several sites out there caching the cisco firmwares. You can try to download "cmterm-7940-7960-8.7.00-sip.cop" from *h*t*t*p://ftp.itl.ua/pub/cisco/ip-7900ser/. Rename it to *.tgz, extract the contents and upload it to a tftp server. You can use the Operator's internal tftp server /var/tftp.

You also need to create a proper xmldefault.cnf.xml file. See http://forums.kerio.com/mv/msg/25257/105086/#msg_105086

Unfortunately, I don't any 7940 phone so I can't give you precise directions. Be prepared to spend several hours convincing the phone to upgrade :-/

[Updated on: Thu, 08 August 2013 10:39]