Connect. Communicate. Collaborate. Securely.

Home » Kerio User Forums » Kerio Connect » Newbie-Some Questions About Kerio Connect
  •  
CT0_10M

Send a private message to this user
Good day Everyone.

I'm new to Kerio Connect. I have an assignment to suggest a cheaper alternative to Microsoft Exchange and I'm suggesting Kerio Connect. Thing is now I have to deploy the solution and I don't know where to begin so I've got some questions to ask you guys.

1. Can I install Kerio Connect Server on a Windows 7 or 8 machine and will it allow 80 connections ie if I create the mailboxes on the Windows box will my users be able to connect to it?

2. If I have got an Antivirus installed already on the computer will I still need Sophos and what is the function of Sophos? Will any other Antivirus work?

3. If I install on a Windows box that is not the server what will the primary domain and other details be.

I would really appreciate the help and a step by step guide for 'dummies' would be great.

Thanks all
  •  
Vicky

Hi Christopher,

Welcome to the forums Smile

1. We do have people running on desktop editions of Windows. I personally have not had anyone running Kerio Connect on Windows 8 but i have had a people run it on Windows 7 for small installations and things seem to be fine as long as the users manage their mailboxes.

2. You will still need Sophos as Sophos is the only built in AV for scanning email. As a side note your other AV will need to have the Kerio directory excluded from being scanned along with the Kerio Mail Store where ever you decide to put it.

3. The primary domain in Kerio will be whatever you configure it to be it is not preset by Kerio. So if you own a domain called mycompany.com you can configure Kerio to have that as its domain.

One thing you might find useful if you are a newbie to our software is our knowledge base:

http://kb.kerio.com

There are some good articles on there. Otherwise you can always post questions here.

All the best,
Vicky