Connect. Communicate. Collaborate. Securely.

Home » Kerio User Forums » Kerio Connect » Changing Backup / Archive Location
  •  
kconception

Send a private message to this user
Hello

I'm new to the kerio setup and need some advice.

I have kerio data store and backup on the same drive and would like to move the backup/archive to a network share.

Can the files simple be moved and the location changed in the console or does the service need to be shutdown before anything is done?

I've seen other post which say to shutdown and start the service.

Was wondering if this only needs to be done when changing the location parameter of the backup/archive in the console and not so much for the moving of the data.

If it just the parameter, then we would be down a minute; if it's the entire data then we'd be down several hours.

So any confirmation would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks
  •  
Neil Whiteside (Kerio)

Hello Keith,

You can change the location of both the Backup and Archive directories through Webadmin->Configuration->Archiving & backup.

Once you have done this you can move the old files to the new location. Backups should be fine, however once you have copied the archive across, I would recommend that you stop Kerio Connect, navigate to the new archive folder and rename "index.fld" to "index.bad" then start Kerio Connect.

I hope this helps.

Best regards,

Neil.

Knowledge Base: http://kb.kerio.com/.
Looking for technical support? http://www.kerio.com/support
  •  
kconception

Thanks Neil for the quick reply!

So the only time we need to shutdown and restart service is to rename index files (that's not too bad).

Was checking the Archive folder and it has an "acl.fld" file, a bunch of zip files and a "2014-Jun" folder. In the folder there is an "index.fld" file as well as other ".fld" files and a "#assoc" and "#msgs" folder.

Do I rename the index.fld in the "2014-Jun" folder?

Thanks
Keith
  •  
sfpete