Connect. Communicate. Collaborate. Securely.

Home » Kerio User Forums » Kerio Connect » NetBios exposed on OSX client running Connect
  •  
fishtech

Send a private message to this user
Quote:
For security and privacy reasons, NetBIOS services should not be made available from the public Internet. They can be used to gain information about your computers, and can also be used by malicious actors to perform denial of service attacks. To resolve this issue please ensure that the firewall is enabled on your router, and that you are blocking inbound and outbound traffic on the affected ports (135/udp through 139/udp and 445/udp for Microsoft Windows; see details below for additional ports that may need to be blocked).
Regards,
ISP Internet Services Security Center

Incident details for XXX.XX.XX.XXX

Port: 137/udp
Machine name: MACMINI-0E8CD9

Hi,

I received the above notification from my ISP.

I am running Connect 8.3.0 on Mac OSX client 10.7.3.

I have been running for 3 or 4 years without this issue. Did installing 8.3.0 open up NetBios?

Please advise.

Thanks,

ft.

•  
Pavel Dobry (Kerio)

No, it did not. It is not related to Kerio Connect.
Disable file sharing on your OS X.
  •  
fishtech

OSX file sharing is not active on the box.

The only service active in System Preferences > Sharing is Remote Management (for Apple Remote Desktop).

ft.
Previous Topic: Full Text Search lagging behind???
Next Topic: Problem (bug) in ical delegation (mac osx 10.8.5)
Goto Forum:

Disclaimer: