Connect. Communicate. Collaborate. Securely.

Home » Kerio User Forums » Kerio Connect » Jabber/XMPP Working, but... (I'm not sure why or how; it doesn't seem it should be.)
  •  
jcooper

Send a private message to this user
Hi,

I'm just beginning to play with this. I have set up our internal DNS Server per the KB article:

_xmpp-server._tcp.kingarch.com. 18000 IN SRV 0 5 5269 mail.kingarch.com.
_xmpp-client._tcp.kingarch.com. 18000 IN SRV 0 5 5223 mail.kingarch.com.

(see attached screenshots of Mac 10.6.8 Server)

Running a Jabber account (Mac Messages) internally seems to work ok, but I still show, in the Instant Messaging Service Availability, no DNS SRV Record (red X in column). How is IM still able to work?

Also, I manage to connect sometimes with my iPhone via Monal. It also worked from outside the LAN, which is puzzling as it shouldn't be able to see our internal DNS; my ISP hasn't set up the records on our main DNS Server yet. So I'm not sure how it was able to do that. I obviously do have the port open on our firewall and pointed to the server; but I thought KC and the clients needed these DNS records to work?

Speaking of Monal, it doesn't work great, but lots better than anything else I've found (most didn't work at all). Are there any iOS XMPP clients that anyone uses reliably with KC 8.3, that doesn't need an account somewhere else?

Ideally, Kerio will develop their own IM/Presence app (mobile and desktop) someday soon. (hint hint)

Thanks,

Jeff

[img]./fa/3555/0/[/img]
[img]./fa/3556/0/[/img]

•  
Pavel Dobry (Kerio)

Send a private message to this user
jcooper wrote on Fri, 25 July 2014 14:23

Running a Jabber account (Mac Messages) internally seems to work ok, but I still show, in the Instant Messaging Service Availability, no DNS SRV Record (red X in column). How is IM still able to work?