Connect. Communicate. Collaborate. Securely.

Home » Kerio User Forums » Kerio Connect » iOS Profile Deletes User Data by Default
  •  
snymo

Messages: 6
Karma: 0
Send a private message to this user
The default setting for iOS configuration profile is to Remove Deleted Messages After One Week. The net result is that even though "Items Cleaned Out" is disabled for a domain and a desktop mail client has a mailbox behavior to NEVER permanently erase deleted messages, downloading the phone profile will essentially wipe all deleted messages from the server and desktop that are older than one week. A phone profile should not default to deleting server and desktop user data, can we get this fixed please?!!!

[Updated on: Mon, 16 March 2015 20:23]

  •  
fishtech

Messages: 626
Karma: 14
Send a private message to this user
A related point... Would it be possible to allow the profile to be writeable?

The sender's email address defaults to the user's Open Directory shortname and cannot be changed.

We do not use the shortname for email address, but we are forced to do do so by the profile.

Thanks,

b.
  •  
Pavel Dobry (Kerio)

Messages: 5245
Karma: 251
Send a private message to this user
snymo wrote on Mon, 16 March 2015 19:45
The default setting for iOS configuration profile is to Remove Deleted Messages After One Week. The net result is that even though "Items Cleaned Out" is disabled for a domain and a desktop mail client has a mailbox behavior to NEVER permanently erase deleted messages, downloading the phone profile will essentially wipe all deleted messages from the server and desktop that are older than one week. A phone profile should not default to deleting server and desktop user data, can we get this fixed please?!!!


This is not a setting for configuration profile. It is default setting for Apple Mail. iOS configuration profile cannot change or enforce this setting in any way.
To fix this, you need to raise a feature request at Apple.
As a workaround you can create an IMAP account manually in Apple Mail on iOS so you can change this setting before the account setting is saved and applied.
  •  
snymo

Messages: 6
Karma: 0
Send a private message to this user
Might I suggest a soft notice somewhere during the setup process that alerts the user this profile may modify desktop email data unless you change it.
Previous Topic: Instant Messaging service failed to start
Next Topic: zimbra desktop client and kerio?
Goto Forum:
  


Disclaimer:
Kerio discussion forums are intended for open communication between forum members and may contain information and material posted by members which may be useful in learning about Kerio products. The discussion forums are not intended to provide technical support for any specific product. Any information implied or expressed in the discussion forums is that of the posting member. Kerio is in no way responsible for the information posted in the forums, or its accuracy. Kerio employees may participate in the discussions, but their postings do not represent an offical position of the company on any issues raised or discussed. Kerio reserves the right to monitor and maintain the forums to promote free and accurate exchange of information.

Current Time: Tue Oct 24 04:05:21 CEST 2017

Total time taken to generate the page: 0.00472 seconds
.:: Contact :: Home ::.
Powered by: FUDforum 3.0.4.