Connect. Communicate. Collaborate. Securely.

Home » Kerio User Forums » Kerio Connect » License Reallocation (Reuse of license from one user to another)
  •  
DVS

Send a private message to this user
Hello,

I am new to Kerio. I spent some time in the Kerio knowledgebase, seeking an answer to this question. I found that you can transfer a license from Windows to an appliance. But what I want to know is whether I can transfer a license from one user to another within the same environment.

Several employees are no longer here and their Kerio accounts have been sitting idle. Soon, there will be new employees hired. I want to know, for example, if the license used for former employee John Doe can be reallocated to soon-to-be employee Jane Smith. Is this allowed or am I required to purchase new licenses?

If it is allowed, however, there is a twist to this. If reallocation of a license is allowed, can I transfer the license to Jane Smith, but keep the John Doe mailbox in-place, so that I can continue to utilize auto-reply whenever someone sends a message to the John Doe mailbox? Is this scenario allowed?

Your response would be most appreciated. And if you can point me to docs that discuss this issue, I would appreciate that as well.

Thank you
  •  
Brian Carmichael (Kerio)

There is only one server license which defines the maximum number of users. As I understand your situation, when an employee leaves your company, you prefer to keep that person's mailbox, which will continue to occupy a license. One option is to delete the user (John) and choose the option to move their data to another user (Jane). This will free up a user license. You can additionally create an alias that delivers incoming email for John, to Jane's mailbox. Jane can create a rule in Kerio Connect Client to auto reply for anything to John's email address and also to sort email addressed to John into a subfolder.

Brian Carmichael
Senior Technical Marketing Engineer | Kerio