Connect. Communicate. Collaborate. Securely.

Home » Kerio User Forums » Kerio Connect » Can I use Windows Server 2008R2 Backup?
  •  
AbboBasT

Send a private message to this user
Hi, this is my first post and I am a Kerio noob so please be gentle!

We have acquired a new customer who is running Kerio Connect v9.0.3 on a Dell Windows Server 2008R2 x64 server. They have 146GB of mailstore and have never had a backup! Shocked

We have supplied 3x 2TB USB 3.0 hard drives for backup purposes but from what I read the Kerio Full backup process is very slow, plus this Dell PE T310 server is USB 2.0 only.

My question is, can I safely run Windows Server Backup to get a full backup of this server? I realise this will not give me as fully featured a backup as the Kerio native backup but it would give me something!

Many thanks in advance for any help offered.

Regards,

Paul.

[Updated on: Mon, 28 November 2016 20:37]

•  
Vicky Tripp (Kerio)

Hi Paul,

You could try setting the backups off on Friday evening (at the end of the working day) and let Kerio run a backup over the weekend as this is the recommended way to backup Kerio Connect.

If you were to try using something else to backup I would recommend that this is done with the Kerio Connect service stopped as this may help in preventing any file lock ups and potential issues with index files.

The dangers of using a 3rd party backup tool with the Kerio store is that you run the risk of the files locking and maybe corrupting index files.

I hope this helps some what but hopefully other users will comment on their experiences with the Windows backups.

All the best,
Vicky

Vicky Tripp
Kerio Technical Support Engineer
  •  
AbboBasT

Thanks very much for your reply Vicky.

Unfortunately this customer is open 5.5 days a week, closing half day Saturday and all day Sunday. I'll try starting the Kerio backup on Saturday afternoon and see how that goes.