Connect. Communicate. Collaborate. Securely.

Home » Kerio User Forums » Kerio Connect » Certificate
  •  
mthunholm

Send a private message to this user
I have an invaild certificate, I have read that I need to request a certificate which I have done, but it has been over a month. I am new to this, is there something else I have to do to get certificates to work.

Thanks
  •  
dmartz

Requesting a certificate only gives you a file to shop around with. Keep this file. If you do not have it anymore, delete your "request" entry in Kerio and create a new request.

I suggest looking at www.instantssl.com (cause they are cheap) for purchasing a certificate. During the signup and purchase process, you will need to provide that file kerio generated. It contains all the information the SSL certificate provider needs.

Alternatively you can simply generate one in Kerio and save yourself US$50 annually, but its not really a good idea.

There are other SSL providers, but your looking at hundreds of dollars (assuming US currency) per year. The two main differences that we found between the SSL vendors was
1) the insurance on the certificate
2) how well known the brand is

Keep in mind that SSL is a verification process between your server, the email client, and the SSL certificate provider.

Too bad you waited over a month to ask for help.
  •  
jonbrain

If you are going to have a lot of users on Internet Explorer on PC I would reccomend going for a Thawte Certificate.

Internet Explorer recognises this as a secure certificate and you won't get the initial warning.

The best option is a Verisign certificate as all browsers reconise this, but it is ridiculously overpriced. All depends on your budget.
  •  
mthunholm

Thank you for your help. We are all Macintosh OS X, I have just taking over for the person in charge of the email system, and I have had to deal with all the wonderful bugs still in kerio 6, I appreciate your help.

Thanks!
  •  
mthunholm