Connect. Communicate. Collaborate. Securely.

Home » Kerio User Forums » Kerio Control » Total Firewall Noob
  •  
Frank_Castle

Send a private message to this user
I've got Kerio Winroute Firewall 6.0.9 and I have no idea what to do. I'm not a computer noob but I'm a firewall noob.

So basically i've tried to search on the forums for an answer to my question but I don't even know what the language terms mean so I'm just getting lost.

I just installed and have no Mozilla problem.
But Trillian isn't signing on to any of the messenger services: (AIM, ICQ, MSMESS, YAHOOMESS)

I've read things about rules and whatnot but have no idea where to set them. I'm grateful that Kerio is so detailed but it's confusing and intimidating for someone who's never used a firewall before and who doesn't know the language terms.

Sorry to be a noob. I hate noobs....

Please help.. I catch on quick
  •  
feite

Read the manual and use the wizard to create the basic rules.
  •  
Frank_Castle

feite wrote on Thu, 07 April 2005 18:34

Read the manual and use the wizard to create the basic rules.

Well I did this and got my Trillian to work with running the wizard when I did a
"allow access to all servers (no limitations)"
but is this safe?

And as I said I don't know what the language terms mean so I could sit and study a glossary for a few days before even trying to mess with things, but I don't have a few days. I need some personal security while I do my internet crap ASAP.

•  
feite

If you are not running any services create the following traffic rules:

name: internetaccess lan
source: lan
dest: internet
service: any
actions: allow
translation: nat default outgoing interface

name: internetaccess firewall
source: lan
dest: internet
service: any
actions: allow
translation: none