Connect. Communicate. Collaborate. Securely.

Home » Kerio User Forums » Kerio Connect » Newbie Setup from scratch
  •  
jamezm

Send a private message to this user
Hi,

I hope somebody can help me with the configuration of Kerio. I am a real newbie and am having real difficulty understanding what settings go where, I had hoped it would all be a little more intuitive.

The 'server machine' is Windows XP (it is only a 'server machine' for the purposes of trialling Kerio... it is not used for anything else). It does not have Outlook installed. I have used the default Program Files>Kerio>Store etc for the server storage. The network is a simple peer-to-peer network of 10 PC's connected to a switch.

As I am currently just demo-ing the product before implementing what domain name should I be using?

Is there a step-by-step guide to the settings that goes into more detail than the manual?

For example, how will the client machines know where to access the server? I have installed the Kerio Outlook Connector (on Outlook 2000), and it asks for a 'Server Name' - should this be the IP address of the server machine itself? Or the name of the server machine on the LAN network.

I really get the feeling I am missing some basic stuff here but I am not a network expert I just know 'this cable goes here' territory and want to trial this product. Our existing set up is to collect emails to individual Outlook PST's via our host's POP3 servers, and archive email to 'Microsoft Mail Shared Folders'. We want to modernise the set up to Exchange or a cheaper system like Kerio.

Any help at all would be much appreciated. A step-by-step 'enter these IP Address / username / password details here' guide would be ideal!

Thanks in advance.
  •  
KevinAtAPC