Connect. Communicate. Collaborate. Securely.

Home » Kerio User Forums » Kerio Connect » KOC - Why did I bother?
  •  
catoxpress

Send a private message to this user
After doing some prelim testing on one of our users, I loaded the KOC on about 15 Win2k machines running Outlook 2000 in our office. Everyone was excited about the collaboration features and, as an admin, I was excited about maintaining a "public" address book.

What a mess. It only took a couple of days before the nightmares began.

Messages get stuck in the outbox for no reason.
Outlook freezes and becomes non-responsive.
It takes about 10 minutes to send a plain text email to a group of about 60 people.
Errors, crashes, and just general problems.

What is going on? Why would you release this product? What are you doing about it?

We love it when it works, but that seems to be only intermittent. We need to rely on our email communications.

Kerio, when are you going to provide us with a stable product. Maybe you could raise your rates again so that it will make our decisions much easier.
  •  
Jason

Unfortunately, we've had to give up on Kerio as an organization. We were originally excited to be getting off of the M$ treadmill (we had been on Exchange 5.5). Kerio was marketed as an Exchange replacement, and the functionality promised with KOC was a main factor in our decision).

Even when it was "working", the performance of any mail folder with more than a few hundred emails was abysmal and not being able to search through email body text was a huge issue with many of our staff. The whole "offline-caching" thing wouldn't really be an issue with most people if the KOC performance wasn't just flat-out awful.

Unfortunately, the hostility you'll find in the forum has led Kerio to take a "make no promises" stand when it comes to the KOC. Point releases continue to add new features except for the one that Exchange migratees really need, a functional KOC with acceptable performance.