Connect. Communicate. Collaborate. Securely.

Home » Kerio User Forums » Kerio Connect » Deleting spam emails from mail-lists
  •  
jimklein

Send a private message to this user
We use Kerio & I'm new to the company & Kerio.

But I'm getting alot of spam from a mailinglist we have setup.
(& of course others on that list also get the spam)

Since the mailinglists are intended to be used only internally, is there any type of rule or option we can set so that emails going to lists, have to be created from internal users or a particular domain?

Much thanks,
Jim
  •  
winkelman

If it really is a mailing list (as specified in Admin Console, Domain Settings, Mailing Lists) only member of the list can post messages, so you wouldn't have this spam problem.

I'm guessing you mean a group (as specified in Admin Console, Domain Settings, Groups). There the only anti-SPAM mechanism is the nromal users spam-filter. In this case you need to see if you can improve that performance (use blacklists, etc.)

If the group is only used as a mailing list (and not to distribute rights etc.), perhaps you should move the group over to a 'real' mailing list.
  •  
sedell

If it is a group, you should be able to set the 'This group can send/receive email to/from it's own domain only' setting to prevent outside addresses from sending mail to it.

Scott
  •  
winkelman

sedell wrote on Wed, 02 August 2006 17:48

If it is a group, you should be able to set the 'This group can send/receive email to/from it's own domain only' setting to prevent outside addresses from sending mail to it.

This will disable outside communication to all members of the group. Irregardless of if they are mailing to/from the group or to someone else. It is just a means to distribute rights to groups of people.