Connect. Communicate. Collaborate. Securely.

Home » Kerio User Forums » Kerio Connect » Mail Domain different from AD Domain
  •  
ardinescc

Send a private message to this user
Hi,

I'm currently evaluating Kerio Mail Server to be our email system, and I'm totally new to this system.

I downloaded Kerio 6.2.1 and installed on a member server with mail/primary domain called mymail.com. Our Active Directory domain is mydomain.com. Does this setup workable?

We have DSL connection to the Internet with dynamic IP address. We're using Linksys wireless router. The router is configured for port forwarding (I opened ports 110 and 25). Am I missing something on the router config?

The MX record for mymail.com points to kerio.linksysnet.com which is the domain registered for the Dynamic DNS.

Problem: I can't send nor receive emails to/from external.

Please help.

Thanks,

Chris

•  
sedell

In the domain settings, under the Directory Service tab is a setting to specify your AD domain when it's different from your mail domain.

As for being on DSL with dynamic IP... this probably won't work for sending mail, and if it does, it'll be problematic. Many blacklists include dynamic IP ranges in their lists, since mail servers shouldn't be behind a dynamic IP. Also, infected PCs are used to spread viruses, and are used by spammers to send spam, and more often than not, these are on dynamic IP addresses.

If it's a dynamic address, you have no control over your PTR records. Many mail servers require a valid PTR record before they'll accept mail from your server.

It's also possible your ISP blocks this type of traffic. DSL with dynamic addressing isn't meant to be used for hosting servers. I know of several ISPs that are available in my area that block ports to prevent servers from being run, and to prevent spam from being sent from their network. You'd have to check with your ISP on this one.